Legends League Cricket: Check out which retired player is in which team - Living Sports
Legends League Cricket: Check out which retired player is in which team
Cricket MilkywayBlogs 11-Jan-2022 Comments (7) 8

Legends League Cricket: Check out which retired player is in which team

The Cricket World has announced a unique concept for all cricket fans around the world, Legends League Cricket which will get to witness retired cricketing legends on the cricket pitch again.

The event will be held in January 2022, in which three legendary teams of retired cricketers will compete against each other.

It will be a treat for the eyes of the fans of the 2000-era, the names of the cricketers like Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, and many more have been confirmed.

The tournament will start on January 20 at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Oman (UAE). The names of the three teams competing are India Maharaja, Asia Lions, and the Rest of the World.

India Maharaja

The Indian fans also miss two names and heroes of the cricket world – MS Dhoni and Sachin Tendulkar, many more heroes also from the past will still be taking part in this tournament. 

Names like World Cup winners Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, and Harbhajan Singh alongside Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, and Amit Bhandari will be featuring for the Indian side.

Asia Lions

In this team, it will be a mixture of retired legends from Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The legendary names from Pakistan are fast-bowler Shoaib Akhtar with former captain Shahid Afridi alongside Kamran Akmal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asghar Afghan, Azhar Mahmood, and Umar Gul.

And from the Lanka legends, there are, Spin-bowler with most Test wickets Muttiah Muralitharan alongside Sanath Jayasuriya with Tillakaratne Dishan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, and Upul Tharanga.

It will be a blow from the past where the fans can once again observe the feducing of all these big names fighting and sweating it out again.

The World Giants 

World Giants will be the name of the team to represent the Rest of the World Team along with the players, Daren Sammy, Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Kevin Pietersen, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien and Brendan Taylor.

Commissioner of Howzat Legends League Cricket Ravi Shastri said, “Truly living up to their names, World Giants will be the team to beat in the championship. It can’t get better than this. 

When you see top names from the World of Cricket coming together to take on the battle against Asia and India, it would be a treat for the Cricket fans.”

Yet, Coaches and Team Captains would be announced soon.

Leave A Reviews

7 thoughts on “Legends League Cricket: Check out which retired player is in which team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *